Susan Howe & Roberto Tejada

Author of more than a dozen books of poetry and literary criticism, Susan Howe’s recently published a collection of poems, Souls of the Labadie Tract (New Directions, 2007).  Her earlier critical study, My Emily Dickinson, was re-issued in 2007 with an introduction by Eliot Weinberger. Two CDs in collaboration with the musician/composer David Grubbs, Thiefth and Souls of the Labadie Tract, were released on the Blue Chopsticks label (2005; 2007).  Howe held the Samuel P. Capen Chair in Poetry and the Humanities at the State University New York at Buffalo until her retirement in 2007. The recipient of a Guggenheim Fellowship Howe was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in 1999 and served as a Chancellor to the Academy of American Poets between 2000-2006. She spent fall, 2009 in Germany on a Fellowship to the American Academy at Berlin where she completed a new work Frolic Architecture published by Grenfell Press in NY with illustrations by the photographer James Welling.  That This, a collection of work published by New Directions (that includes “Frolic Architecture”) in 2010 recently won the Bollingen Prize. Another CD collaboration with David Grubbs called Frolic Architecture was released in 2011. Roberto Tejada is the author of Mirrors for Gold (Krupskaya, 2006), Exposition Park (Wesleyan, 2010), and Full Foreground (University of Arizona, 2012). Recent catalog essays include “Los Angeles Snapshots” in Now Dig This!: Art and Black Los Angeles, 1960-1980 (Hammer Museum). He founded and—together with Kristin Dykstra and Gabriel Bernal Granados—continues to co-edit the multilingual journal of poetry and poetics in translation Mandorla: New Writing from the Americas.