Thurston Moore & Anne Waldman

Thurston Moore is founder in 1980 of NYC rock group Sonic Youth. He records and performs as a solo artist as well and has worked collaboratively with Yoko Ono, Merce Cunningham, Cecil Taylor, Lydia Lunch, John Zorn and Glen Branca. He has composed music for films by Olivier Assayas, Gus Van Sant, and Allison Anders. His writing has been published through various imprints. He runs the Ecstatic Peace records + tapes label, edits the Ecstatic Peace Poetry Journal, and is chief editor of Ecstatic Peace Library and the poetry imprint Flowers & Cream. He has been on faculty at the Naropa University summer writing program since 2011. He currently records and tours with Chelsea Light Moving and resides in London. His latest publication is NO GO (Ecstatic Peace Library 2013). Author of more than 40 publications of poetry, Anne Waldmans’s most recent books include The Iovis Trilogy: Colors in the Mechanism of Concealment (Coffee House Press 2011), which won the PEN USA 2012 Award for Poetry, Soldatesque/Soldiering (Blaze [Vox] 2012) and Gossamurmur (Penguin Poets 2013). Jaguar Harmonics is forthcoming from Post Apollo Press. She is a recipient of the Shelley Memorial Award for Poetry and has been deemed a “counter-cultural giant” by Publisher’s Weekly. She is a Chancellor of the Academy of American Poets, and recipient of 2013 Guggenheim Fellowship for Poetry. She is a former Director of The Poetry Project, and co-founder of the Jack Kerouac School of Disembodied Poetics at Naropa where she still serves as distinguished professor of poetics and Summer Writing Program artistic director.